Ridgman Striking Competitions

There is a separate website for the Ridgman Striking Competition here, which includes the rules with any available reports and band photos from earlier years.


Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2016

Date: Saturday 4th June 2016
Host: Peterborough Diocesan Guild of Church Bellringers
Venue: Holy Cross, Daventry, Northamptonshire
Judges: Jeremy and Anne Pratt
Test piece 212 changes Erin Caters  
Place Team Rang    Faults
Winner Ely Diocesan Association 6th 21
Second Hertford County Association 7th 32
Third Essex Association 4th 40
Fourth Lincoln Diocesan Guild 6th 42
Fifth Peterborough Diocesan Guild    3rd 62
Sixth Suffolk Guild 2nd 64
Seventh    Bedfordshire Association 1st 68

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2015

Date: Saturday 6th June 2015
Host: Ely Diocesan Association of Church Bell Ringers
Venue: St Peter and St Paul, Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
Judges: David and Caroline House
Test piece 200 changes Cambridge Surprise Royal  
Place Team Rang Peal Speed Marks
Winner Ely Diocesan Association 3rd 3hxx 85%
Second Suffolk Guild 2nd 3h34 78%
Third Bedfordshire Association 8th 3h31 76%
Fourth Essex Association 1st 3h22 65%
Fifth Peterborough Diocesan Guild 6th 3h34 58%
Sixth Cambridge University Guild 4th 3hxx 54%
Seventh= Hertford Association 5th 3hxx 50%
Seventh= Lincoln Diocesan Guild 7th 3hxx 50%
Peal speeds recorded for four teams only. A report on the competition, with photos of the bands and general photos of the event, is on the website for the Ridgman Trophy Competition here. Minutes of the committee meeting are here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2014

Date: Saturday 7th June 2014
Host: Essex Association of Change Ringers
Venue: St Peter ad Vincula, Coggeshall, Essex
Judges: Alan and Mark Ainsworth  
Place Team
Peal Speed Faults
Winner Essex Association
3h05 20
Second Hertford Association
3h06 36
Third Ely Diocesan Association
3h16 38
Fourth Suffolk Guild
3h13 50
Fifth Lincoln Diocesan Guild
3h08 52
Sixth Cambridge University Guild
3h16 65
A report on the competition is on the website for the Ridgman Striking Competition here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2013

Date: Saturday 15th June 2013
Host: Lincoln Diocesan Guild of Change Ringers
Venue: St Laurence, Surfleet, Lincolnshire
Judges: Mike Purday & Richard A Smith  
Place Team Rang Peal Speed Faults
Winner Bedfordshire Association 8th 3h01 30
Second Lincoln Diocesan Guild 2nd 3h04 42
Third Ely Diocesan Association 4th 3h05 47
Fourth Norwich Diocesan Association 5th 3h12 51
Fifth Peterborough Diocesan Guild 7th 2h59 57
Sixth Suffolk Guild 6th 3h19 67
Seventh Essex Association 1st 3h05 83

Cambridge University Guild 3rd 3h03 102
A report on the competition is here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2012

Date: Saturday 16th June 2012
Host: Bedfordshire Association of Church Bell Ringers
Venue: All Saints, Kempston, Bedfordshire
Judges: Philip and Jennie Earis
Place Team Peal Speed Marks
Winner Bedfordshire Association 3h06 88 %
Second Ely Diocesan Association 3h08 85 %
Third Norwich Diocesan Association 3h15 76 %
Fourth Essex Association 3h05 65 %
Fifth Suffolk Guild 3h10 64 %
Sixth Cambridge University 3h15 63 %
Seventh Lincoln Diocesan Guild 3h10 51 %
A developing problem with the bells (and no time to re-run) led to Peterborough Diocesan Guild having to withdraw. A report on the competition is here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2011

Date: Saturday 18th June 2011
Host: Suffolk Guild
Venue: Ipswich - St Mary-le-Tower, Ipswich, Suffolk
Place Team Rang Peal Speed Marks
Winner Norwich Diocesan Association 7th 3h31 75 marks
Second Bedfordshire Association 8th 3h30 96 marks
Third Essex Association 5th 3h23 108 marks
Fourth Peterborough Diocesan Guild 3rd 3h28 135 marks
Fifth Suffolk Guild 1st 3h36 156 marks
Sixth Cambridge University Guild 6th 3h24 183 marks
Seventh Lincoln Diocesan Guild 2nd 3h31 194 marks

Ely Diocesan Association 4th 3h24 223 marks
A report on the competition is here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2010

Date: Saturday 19th June 2010
Host: Ely Diocesan Association
Venue: St Mary the Great, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Judges: Paul and Kate Flavell
Place Team Rang Peal Speed Marks
(Out of 400)
Winner Hertford County Association 5th 3h32 356 marks
Second Suffolk Guild 6th 3h40 335 marks
Third Norwich Diocesan Association 8th 3h25 328 marks
Fourth Peterborough Diocesan Guild 1st 3h34 327 marks
Fifith Essex Association 4th 3h36 323 marks
Sixth Bedfordshire Association 3rd 3h17 316 marks
Seventh Cambridge University Guild 9th 3h30 307 marks
Eighth Lincoln Diocesan Guild 2nd 3h18 289 marks
Ninth Ely Diocesan Association 7th 3h16 274 marks
A report and judges' comments can be found here.

Ridgman Trophy Ten Bell Striking Competition 2009

Date: Saturday 20th June 2009
Host: Hertford Association of Change-Ringers
Venue: St Mary the Virgin, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire
Judges: Alan Regin and Simon Rudd
Place Team Rang Peal Speed Faults
Winner Bedfordshire Association 3rd 3h03 69 faults
Second Essex Association 2nd 3h03 90 faults
Third Peterborough Guild 5th 3h13 111 faults
Fourth Hertford County 6th 3h13 120 faults
Fifith Ely Association 4th 3h00 129 faults
Sixth Cambridge University 1st 3h01 130 faults

Ridgman Trophy Results Summary

 4  June 1988 Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Cambridge University Guild
22  April 1989 Peterborough, Cambridgeshire Suffolk Guild
12  May 1990 Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk Hertford County Association
11  May 1991 Bishop's Stortford, Hertfordshire Hertford County Association
 9  May 1992 Bedford, Bedfordshire Ely Diocesan Association
 8  May 1993 St Neots, Cambridgeshire Suffolk Guild
7  May 1994 Tollesbury, Essex Suffolk Guild
6  May 1995 Stonham Aspal, Suffolk Cambridge University Guild
4  May 1996 Soham, Cambridgeshire Hertford County Association
10  May 1997 St Albans, Hertfordshire Hertford County Association
16  May 1998 Peterborough, Cambridgeshire Hertford County Association
15  May 1999 Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Essex Association
20  May 2000 Wymondham, Norfolk Hertford County Association
2  June 2001 Kempston, Bedfordshire Essex Association
8  June 2002 Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk Leicester Diocesan Guild
7  June 2003 Saltby, Leicestershire Cambridge University Guild
5  June 2004 St Neots, Cambridgeshire Leicester Diocesan Guild
4  June 2005 Grantham, Lincolnshire Bedfordshire Association
17  June 2006 Writtle, Essex Essex Association
16  June 2007 Rothwell, Northamptonshire Bedfordshire Association
14  June 2008 Gressenhall, Norfolk Bedfordshire Association
20  June 2009 Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire Bedfordshire Association
19  June 2010 Cambridge, Cambridgeshire Hertford County Association
18  June 2011 Ipswich, Suffolk Norwich Diocesan Association
16  June 2012 Kempston, Bedfordshire Bedfordshire Association
15  June 2013 Surfleet, Lincolnshire Bedfordshire Association
7  June 2014 Coggeshall, Essex Essex County Association
 6  June   2015 Wisbech, Cambridgeshire Ely Diocesan Association
 4  June   2016 Daventry, Northants Ely Diocesan Association

Winner's table

Hertford County Association 7
Bedfordshire Association 6
Cambridge University Guild 3
Essex Association 4
Suffolk Guild 3
Leicester Diocesan Guild 2
Ely Diocesan Association 3
Norwich Diocesan Association 1