Association Officers and other Representatives

Association Officers

Email addresses on this page are modified to protect against automatic scanning. To send an email to an Association Officer, replace _at_ with @. Officer reports for each year, printed in the Annual Report, are available here.

Central Council of Church Bell Ringers Representatives

The Ely DA sends four representatives to the Central Council of Church Bell Ringers. These representatives are officers of the Association. Details are here.

Bell Restoration Fund trustees

The Bell Restoration Fund of the Ely DA is a separate organisation with its own trustees. Details are here.

Independent Examiner

The Independent Examiner is elected by the AGM to examine the Association's accounts annually and report to the AGM. The Independent Examiner may not hold office on the General Committee nor be a trustee of the Bell Restoration Fund.

Independent Examiner: Bruce Mew. Telephone: 0 1480 467156. Email

The General Committee

The General Committee (previously called the Diocesan Committee), whose role is to administer and guide the Association, is made up of Association Officers (including one of the representatives to the Central Council of Church Bell Ringers), a delegate from each of the sub-committees, District Secretaries and one elected member from each district. Details are here.

Management of the Association shall be carried out as far as possible by sub- committees. Each sub-committee shall appoint its own secretary for recording minutes of meetings and details of its activities. Such minutes, once accepted and signed by the sub-committee Chair, shall be passed to the General Secretary and become part of the official records of the Association.

The sub-committees are :

  • Recruitment and Training Sub-committee

  • Ringing Sub-committee

  • Bell Maintenance and Repair Sub-committee

  • Administration Sub-committee

More details here.

Honorary members

Any ringing member or other person who has given exceptional service and furthered the objectives of the Association may be elected to the office of Honorary Member (see Rules of the Ely DA, rule 3d).

The Honorary Members of the Ely DA are: Barry C Bass, George E Bonham, Catherina E Griffiths, Roger J Palmer, Thomas W Ridgman and Maurice J Thurmott.

Past Officers of the Association

Details of the past General Secretaries, Peal Secretaries and Treasurers are here.